Recommended Books Available 10/20/14

YIPPEE! YIPPEE! A new Charley Davidson book by Darynda Jones.  If you have not read her series, start now. 

What a great week ahead with spectacular releases. In addition to Darynda Jones, a new Jennifer L. Armentrout release, a marvelous biography and something inspirational. Enjoy!

Seventh Grave and No Body (Charley Davidson Series) by Darynda Jones. Available October 21, 2014. 
Twelve. Twelve of the deadliest beasts ever forged in the fires of hell have escaped onto our plane, and they want nothing more than to rip out the jugular of Charley Davidson and serve her lifeless, mangled body to Satan for dinner. 

So there’s that. But Charley has more on her plate than a mob of testy hellhounds. For one thing, her father has disappeared, and the more she retraces his last steps, the more she learns he was conducting an investigation of his own, one that has Charley questioning everything she’s ever known about him. Add to that an ex-BFF who is haunting her night and day, a rash of suicides that has authorities baffled, and a drop-dead sexy fiancé who has attracted the attentions of a local celebrity, and Charley is not having the best week of her life. But all of that combined barely scratches the surface of her problems.

Recent developments—and a few distressing prophesies—have forced her to become a responsible adult. Exactly the kind of adult she’s never aspired to be. To conquer such a monumental task, she’s decided to start small. Really small. She gets a pet. But how can she save the world against the forces of evil when she can’t even keep a goldfish alive? 

A tad north of hell, a hop, skip, and a jump past the realm of eternity, is a little place called Earth, and Charley Davidson, grim reaper extraordinaire, is determined to do everything in her power to protect it. We’re doomed. 

Read them all! Charley Davidson First Grave on the Right (Charley Davidson Book 1). Sexy funny and original. Charley Davidson is the grim reaper. Her dream man is the son of the devil. The fun begins. And we only have to wait until May 19, 2015 for Eighth Grave After Dark (Charley Davidson Series)

It should come as No Surprise that I am an Animal Advocate, a vegetarian as part of my cruelty free lifestyle and I Love Dogs! I love books about dogs and photos of dogs, and dogs!
DogFace by Barbara O’Brien. Available October 21, 2014. Adorable four-color candid doggie mug shots. 

Photographer and animal trainer Barbara O’Brien has spent years photographing aspiring canine actors, from prancing puppies to stately hounds and tenacious terriers. At first, she discarded the photos if her subject was barking, sniffing, or otherwise looking less than perfect—until she realized that those outtakes best revealed the true personality of the pup. 

O’Brien is a skilled and seasoned photographer, and this winsome collection shows the care she took to reveal each dog’s essential character. The goofiness of the boisterous Border Collie, the decorum of the genteel Great Dane, and the curiosity of the regal Corgi—all of them are captured here in gorgeous four-color photography.

Stone Cold Touch (The Dark Elements Book 2) by Jennifer L. Armentrout. Available October 21, 2014.  
Every touch has its price. Layla Shaw is trying to pick up the pieces of her shattered life—no easy task for a seventeen-year-old who’s pretty sure things can’t get worse. Her impossibly gorgeous best friend, Zayne, is forever off-limits thanks to the mysterious powers of her soul-stealing kiss.

The Warden clan that has always protected her is suddenly keeping dangerous secrets. And she can barely think about Roth, the wickedly hot demon prince who understood her in ways no one else could.

But sometimes rock bottom is only the beginning. Because suddenly Layla’s powers begin to evolve, and she’s offered a tantalizing taste of what has always been forbidden. 

Then, when she least expects it, Roth returns, bringing news that could change her world forever. She’s finally getting what she always wanted, but with hell literally breaking loose and the body count adding up, the price may be higher than Layla is willing to pay. 

I like non-fiction. Here is a book that brings a new perspective to Queen Victoria. This is a hefty book, 624 pages, but then Victoria ruled for 64 years. Pick up this excellent read, learn, enjoy and build muscles. 

Victoria: A Life by A.N.Wilson. Available October 23, 2014. 
When Queen Victoria died in 1901, she had ruled for nearly sixty-four years. She was a mother of nine and grandmother of forty-two and the matriarch of royal Europe through her children’s marriages. To many, Queen Victoria is a ruler shrouded in myth and mystique, an aging, stiff widow paraded as the figurehead to an all-male imperial enterprise. 

But in truth, Britain’s longest-reigning monarch was one of the most passionate, expressive, humorous and unconventional women who ever lived, and the story of her life continues to fascinate. 

A. N. Wilson’s exhaustively researched and definitive biography includes a wealth of new material from previously unseen sources to show us Queen Victoria as she’s never been seen before. Wilson explores the curious set of circumstances that led to Victoria’s coronation, her strange and isolated childhood, her passionate marriage to Prince Albert and his pivotal influence even after death and her widowhood and subsequent intimate friendship with her Highland servant John Brown, all set against the backdrop of this momentous epoch in Britain’s history—and the world’s. 

Born at the very moment of the expansion of British political and commercial power across the globe, Victoria went on to chart a unique course for her country even as she became the matriarch of nearly every great dynasty of Europe. Her destiny was thus interwoven with those of millions of people—not just in Europe but in the ever-expanding empire that Britain was becoming throughout the nineteenth century. The famed queen had a face that adorned postage stamps, banners, statues and busts all over the known world.

Wilson’s Victoria is a towering achievement, a masterpiece of biography by a writer at the height of his powers.

The Top Ten Things Dead People Want to Tell YOU by Mike Dooley. Available October 21, 2014.  
From the afterlife—a new perspective on your life. “I know this may come as a shock, and you know I’m not fond of using stale one-liners, but—‘reports of my death have been greatly exaggerated.’ I’m as alive now as I was on the day we met, except, maybe, more so.” 

If the dead could speak, don’t you wonder what they would say to those of us they’ve left behind? What would they tell us to soothe our sorrow for their loss, calm our fears of what happens when we die, and fire us up to live the best possible lives we can right now?

In pages filled with wisdom, humor, and, yes, joy, New York Times best-selling author Mike Dooley explores our most pressing and profound questions about the afterlife—and this life—from the fresh perspective of those who have made the transition to the next phase.

Among the revelations and insights they share: 

  • We were ready; you are not.
  • We’re sorry for any pain we may have caused.
  • Your pets are just as crazy, brilliant, and loving here as they were there. 
  • Nothing we say can prepare you for the beauty of the moment you arrive. 

You’ll learn that our loved ones are not lost to us; that our time on earth is both a school and an adventure; that, all appearances to the contrary, life truly is fair; and that we have it in us to reshape our own fortunes, starting today.

And now for a little Halloween.

by Natasha Wing (Author), Cynthia Fisher (Illustrator).

“‘Twas the night before Halloween, and all through the house, All the creatures were stirring, except for the mouse. The monsters had gathered to plan and prepare, For the trick-or-treaters who soon would be there?”

Little monsters and goofy goblins take center stage in this silly, spooky spin on Clement C. Moore’s beloved poem. But what will happen on Halloween when the monsters come face to face with human trick-or-treaters in this fun-filled book by the author of The Night Before Easter?

 Join Amazon Prime – Watch Over 40,000 Movies & TV Shows Anytime – Start Free Trial Now

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Coming Soon, Fiction, Non Fiction, Pre Order, Recommended, Reviews, YA

New & Recommended for the Week of 10/14/14

This week my Halloween suggestions are cruelty free. We try very hard to live a cruelty free life and my hope is you will be, as well. So in this spirit I offer Vegetarian Recipes and more: a long anticipated young adult book, some high seas adventure, something to read with children and time travel. Nothing scary this week – oh, wait – the young adult book has a terrifying premise starting with UNWIND. That is frightening.

Who knew there were so many vegetarian vampires? .

    

     

UnDivided (Unwind Dystology Book 4) by Neil Shusterman. Available October 14, 2014 in hardback and November 6, 2014 in e-book format.

Teens control the fate of America in the fourth and final book in the New York Times bestselling Unwind Dystology by Neal Shusterman. 

Proactive Citizenry, the company that created Cam from the parts of unwound teens, has a plan: to mass produce rewound teens like Cam for military purposes. And below the surface of that horror lies another shocking level of intrigue: Proactive Citizenry has been suppressing technology that could make unwinding completely unnecessary. 
As Conner, Risa, and Lev uncover these startling secrets, enraged teens begin to march on Washington to demand justice and a better future.
But more trouble is brewing. Starkey’s group of storked teens is growing more powerful and militant with each new recruit. And if they have their way, they’ll burn the harvest camps to the ground and put every adult in them before a firing squad—which could destroy any chance America has for a peaceful future.

I am in awe of this series, Book 3 came out a year ago and I heaped on the praise.  I highly endorse this series. The premise and storytelling makes this both a favorite and thought provoking series.

In a society where unwanted teens are salvaged for their body parts, three runaways fight the system that would “unwind” them.

Unwind Dystology, Unwind (Unwind Dystology Book 1). In a society where unwanted teens are salvaged for their body parts, three runaways fight the system that would “unwind” them.

Connor’s parents want to be rid of him because he’s a troublemaker. Risa has no parents and is being unwound to cut orphanage costs. Lev’s unwinding has been planned since his birth, as part of his family’s strict religion. Brought together by chance, and kept together by desperation, these three unlikely companions make a harrowing cross-country journey, knowing their lives hang in the balance. 

If they can survive until their eighteenth birthday, they can’t be harmed — but when every piece of them, from their hands to their hearts, are wanted by a world gone mad, eighteen seems far, far away.

In Unwind, Boston Globe/Horn Book Award winner Neal Shusterman challenges readers’ ideas about life — not just where life begins, and where it ends, but what it truly means to be alive.

Until the Sea Shall Give Up Her Dead (A Charles Hayden Novel) by S. Thomas Russell. Available October 16, 2014. 

Charles Hayden returns in the thrilling new naval adventure from bestselling author S. Thomas Russell, today’s “Patrick O’Brian for a new generation” (Kirkus Reviews). 

Master and Commander Charles Hayden has received fresh orders that take him and the HMS Themis to the Caribbean, with instructions to meddle with French shipping to the colonies. While en route, they rescue two Spanish castaways who beg for help fleeing from a vengeful family situation—Hayden agrees to do what he can, though it’s soon clear his two new guests aren’t exactly what they seem. 

Arriving in the lawless Caribbean seas, Hayden and Themis find themselves torn between the forces of reckless English captains, conflicts between royalist and revolutionary Frenchmen, and Spanish ships that are enemies to both England and France. And when someone very dear to him is kidnapped, Hayden may sacrifice everything in a reckless pursuit to save her.

Holiday Helper (Penguin Young Readers, L2) by Jill Abramson, Jane O’Connor, and Illustrator Deborah Melmon. Available October 16, 2014. 

Scout is ready for her first Christmas! It’s Scout’s first winter, and she can’t wait for Christmas! She loves the shiny presents with their gorgeous ribbons, which look awfully like fancy tug-of-war toys! By the time Scout’s through with them, the presents are a mess.

Is Christmas morning ruined? Of course not! Fans of Puppy Diaries will find this story hilarious, sweet, and perfect for young readers!

Warden of Time (The After Cilmeri Series Book 8) by Sarah Woodbury. Available October 19, 2014. 

Warden of Time , the ninth novel in the After Cilmeri series, continues the story of time travel, romance, and adventure begun with Daughter of Time.

As both modern man and medieval king, David is committed to transforming medieval England into his own version of Avalon. Not everyone supports his ideals, however, and having offended the pope by welcoming Jews and heretics into England, David is summoned to Canterbury to explain himself.

 But when information comes to light that reveals the accusations against him have less to do with religion than with power and wealth, David finds himself on familiar ground–and at the center of a conspiracy that stretches from Ireland to Italy. Facing excommunication, a fickle populace, and a rebellion even by his fellow time travelers, he must decide what his throne is worth, and what he’s willing to sacrifice to keep it.

 EASY Raw Vegan Holidays:  by Kristen Suzanne. Available now.

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Coming Soon, Fiction, YA

Sunday is Lazy & Planning Day

Sunday always begins as a wonderful day.  Lazing around, doing nothing and other miscellaneous activities I feel like doing.

I don’t have to clean, I probably did that yesterday or last week.35334-planplease

I don’t have to cook, I understand the concept but practical application is rarely put in practice.

I might groom the doggies, depends on ‘our’ moods and the current level of cleanliness.

I read.  I surf the internet. I read blogs. I read science news.

I drink coffee, leisurely of course. I look for items and books I want to blog about.

I enjoy the majority of Sunday – until - planning for the week ahead and setting my alarm. Anguish.  Not because the week ahead will be anguish though sometime there is suffering.  Because my laziness has come to an end. If I think about this too early in the day, the laziness ends and anxiety creeps into my body.

So I am going to write a quick note to my blog reading friends.  Ask a question or two and tell you some upcoming plans.  I will then proceed to reading Archaeology the magazine and the website Archaeology Today.

UPCOMING & QUESTIONS:

Sexy Cover

I am scheduling some author interviews. I do have some friends that are authors.  I have sent requests to Shannon Leigh of Deconstructing Lila and Candace Havens. Shannon & Candy have collaborated on Tycoon Reunion (Entangled Indulgence).  Candy has a large library of published books (and I swear more energy that a two-year old – really).

What would you like me to ask them about? Do you have a question about a favorite book? Their writing technique?

What authors would you like me to interview? I’ll do my darndest to get that interview.

What authors want me to interview them?

I am finishing Hugh Howey’s Wool Omnibus Edition (Wool 1 – 5) (Silo Saga), Shift Omnibus Edition (Shift 1-3) (Wool Trilogy Book 2) and Dust (Wool Trilogy Book 3). Enjoyable. Review coming.

I am fairly certain that later today I will watch (re-watch) Orphan Black, Season 2. Amazing series from BBC America with a very talented lead. Recommended!

 

So enjoy your day.  Your input is welcome. I appreciate your stopping by and comments.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Author Interview

New & Recommended Books Week of 10/6/14

October already! Time for Halloween preparation, sweaters and snuggling.  In the spirit  of having a scary good ghost-clip-art-aieo4bXi4time along with great reading, I will list a few Halloween books throughout this month.  This week is a book about Halloween recipes.  I must be hunger because many of our recommended books have recipes.  Enjoy.

Halloween 100 Recipes. Published December 24, 2013. Kindle book. Make Cheesy fingers, Mummy Toes, Bleeding Heart Brie and more monstrously fun recipes.

Picked to Die (An Orchard Mystery) by Sheila Connolly. Available October 7, 2014.

Connolly is the author of Relatively Dead Mysteries and County Cork Mysteries. She writes enjoyable cozy mysteries. Give her a try. With titles like Golden Malicious (An Orchard Mystery) don’t you want to read the Orchard Mysteryseries? Recipes included. 

It’s harvest time in Granford, Massachusetts, and orchard owner Meg Corey and her fiancé, Seth, are both racing to beat the New England winter. 

Meg is bringing in her apple crop with a team of workers, while Seth is working to restore an old building in the center of town. 

But when his project is set back due to the unexpected discovery of a skeleton under the building—and even worse, a young man related to one of Meg’s former apple pickers is found dead behind the local feed store—the couple’s carefully laid plans are quickly spoiled.

Meg can’t help but wonder: are they just unlucky, or is there something rotten in Granford? If so, she knows she’s got to seek out the bad apple before it ruins the whole bunch.
Trick or Deadly Treat: A Fresh-Baked Mystery by Livia J. Washburn. Available October 7, 2014. 
More recipes and who-done-it fun. Washburn is also the author of Delilah Dickenson series with wonderful titles such as Frankly My Dear, I’m Dead and For Whom The Funeral Bell Tolls help yourself to some treats. 

It’s Halloween in Weatherford, Texas—which means Phyllis Newsom is baking up a storm of yummy seasonal treats…but she’s about to get even busier unmasking a killer. While Phyllis and her friend Carolyn are preparing for a baking contest, her housemate Sam adopts Buck, an adorable Dalmatian who was hit by a car. To thank local veterinarian Hank Baxter for helping the dog, Phyllis and Carolyn bake a batch of doggie treats for his other four-legged patients.

But when they arrive at the clinic, the vet is in the process of being arrested—for the murder of his wife! Convinced that the police are barking up the wrong tree and that someone’s been burying evidence, Sam begs Phyllis to help find the real killer. Joined by Buck, the friends engage in a dogged pursuit of the murderer, who will stop at nothing to muzzle them…permanently.

Undead and Unwary by Mary Janice Davidson. Available October 7, 2014. 

Queen Betsy is back for a 13th novel. If you haven’t read the series start at the very beginning, a very good place to start (according to Maria from The Sound of Music.) And the very beginning of the fun was Undead and Unwed. I loved the first book.

Betsy is a hoot and the yummy Sinclair meant I had a new series to read.  Overall Davidson has been steady in the Queen Betsy series. I cannot say that of everything she has written (and one of the Betsy books, even as a fan I struggled see review).So fans of Queen Betsy rejoice!

 

Lila: A Novel by Marilynne Robinson. Available October 7, 2014. 

Marilynne Robinson returns to the town of Gilead in an unforgettable story of a girlhood lived on the fringes of society in fear, awe, and wonder.

Lila, homeless and alone after years of roaming the countryside, steps inside a small-town Iowa church—the only available shelter from the rain—and ignites a romance and a debate that will reshape her life. 

She becomes the wife of a minister, John Ames, and begins a new existence while trying to make sense of the life that preceded her new found security. Neglected as a toddler, Lila was rescued by Doll, a canny young drifter, and brought up by her in a hardscrabble childhood. Together they crafted a life on the run, living hand to mouth with nothing but their sisterly bond and a ragged blade to protect them. 

Despite bouts of petty violence and moments of desperation, their shared life was laced with moments of joy and love. When Lila arrives in Gilead, she struggles to reconcile the life of her makeshift family and their days of hardship with the gentle Christian worldview of her husband which paradoxically judges those she loves.

Revisiting the beloved characters and setting of Robinson’s Pulitzer Prize–winning Gilead and Home, a National Book Award finalist, Lila is a moving expression of the mysteries of existence that is destined to become an American classic. 

And now for a totally random and not necessarily recommended but it is quirky so here is my final, ahem, recommendation:  The Pointless Book: Started by Alfie Deyes, Finished by You by (who else? his name is in the title after all!) Alfie Deyes. Available in paperback October 7, 2014.

I am a BIG fan of Amazon Prime.
If you aren’t a member, try Prime.  
If you are a member, Give the Gift of Amazon Prime.
 
Happy Reading.

4 Comments

Filed under Books, Coming Soon, Fiction, Non Fiction, Recommended, Reviews

New Releases 9/29/14 Recommendations

Welcome to the end of September and the new and recommended edition of my blog.  Thank you for stopping by for a visit. Enjoy! Please read to the very end (or at least scroll) for a wonderful and haunting piece of fiction.
This week my choices may surprise you. In my opinion we should enjoy, learn and share reading. My recommendations  include a children’s series that is fun and should be shared with your young ones. I will share one of my absolute favorite series of books for children.
I have 2 non-fiction recommendations. The first will educate, expose and bring awareness. 
Dork Diaries 8: Tales from a Not-So-Happily Ever After By Rachel Renee Russell. Available September 29, 2014. (of course you dorks!) 
Nikki Maxwell’s favorite fairy tales get dork-tastic twists in the eighth book of the #1 New York Times bestselling Dork Diaries series. After a bump on the head in gym class on April Fool’s Day, Nikki has a wild dream in which she, her BFFs Chloe and Zoey,her crush Brandon, and mean girl Mackenzie all end up playing the roles of some familiar classic fairy tale characters. Of course, the stories don’t go quite as expected—because they each have a very special Dork Diaries spin.
How can you not fall in love with a series that has a book 3 ½? Dork Diaries 3 1/2: How to Dork Your Diary And be on the lookout for more dorkiness available three days later. This one is a “Make your Own Book.” I think every reader young and old should participate in our own dorky diary then share an excerpt. It will be a hoot! Dork Diaries OMG!: All About Me Diary! 

Not new but one of my favorites and I think this is a delightful series for children. 

Bedtime for Frances The talented Russell Hoban’s Frances Books along with Lillian Hoban and Garth Williams created Frances.

I love the charming sweetness of the prose and the enchanting illustrations. In this first Frances book, the little badger adroitly delays her bedtime with requests for kisses and milk, and concerns over tigers and giants and things going bump in the night. Long a favorite for the gentle humor of its familiar going to bed ritual, Bedtime for Frances is at last available with the warmth of full color enriching Garth Williams’s original nuanced and touching art. ‘Here is the coziest, most beguiling bedtime story in many a day.’—Kirkus Reviews

Political Order and Political Decay: From the Industrial Revolution to the Globalization of Democracy by Francis Fukuyama. Available September 30, 2014. 

The second volume of the bestselling landmark work on the history of the modern state. Volume two is finally here, completing the most important work of political thought in at least a generation. Taking up the essential question of how societies develop strong, impersonal, and accountable political institutions, Fukuyama follows the story from the French Revolution to the so-called Arab Spring and the deep dysfunctions of contemporary American politics. 

He examines the effects of corruption on governance, and why some societies have been successful at rooting it out. He explores the different legacies of colonialism in Latin America, Africa, and Asia, and offers a clear-eyed account of why some regions have thrived and developed more quickly than others. 

And he boldly reckons with the future of democracy in the face of a rising global middle class and entrenched political paralysis in the West.

A sweeping, masterful account of the struggle to create a well-functioning modern state, Political Order and Political Decay is destined to be a classic. 

The Origins of Political Order: From Prehuman Times to the French Revolution: Virtually all human societies were once organized tribally, over-time most developed new political institutions which included a central state that could keep the peace and uniform laws that applied to all citizens. Some went on to create governments that were accountable to their constituents. 
We take these institutions for granted, but they are absent or are unable to perform in many of today’s developing countries—with often disastrous consequences for the rest of the world.

Francis Fukuyama, author of the bestselling The End of History and the Last Man and one of our most important political thinkers, provides a sweeping account of how today’s basic political institutions developed.
Beginning with politics among our primate ancestors The Origins of Political Order:  draws on a vast body of knowledge—history, evolutionary biology, archaeology, and economics—Fukuyama has produced a brilliant, provocative work that offers fresh insights on the origins of democratic societies and raises essential questions about the nature of politics and its discontents. 

The Sense of Style: The Thinking Person’s Guide to Writing in the 21st Century by Steve Pinker. Available September 30, 2014. 

Why is so much writing so bad, and how can we make it better? Is the English language being corrupted by texting and social media? Do the kids today even care about good writing? Why should any of us care? 

In The Sense of Style, the bestselling linguist and cognitive scientist Steven Pinker answers these questions and more. Rethinking the usage guide for the twenty-first century, Pinker doesn’t carp about the decline of language or recycle pet peeves from the rule books of a century ago. 

Instead, he applies insights from the sciences of language and mind to the challenge of crafting clear, coherent, and stylish prose. In this short, cheerful, and eminently practical book, Pinker shows how writing depends on imagination, empathy, coherence, grammatical know how, and an ability to savor and reverse engineer the good prose of others.
He replaces dogma about usage with reason and evidence, allowing writers and editors to apply the guidelines judiciously, rather than robotically, being mindful of what they are designed to accomplish. 

Filled with examples of great and gruesome prose, Pinker shows us how the art of writing can be a form of pleasurable mastery and a fascinating intellectual topic in its own right.

A Sudden Light: A Novel by Garth Stein. Available September 30, 2014.

The bestselling author of The Art of Racing in the Rain presents a long-awaited new novel in which a boy trying to save his parents’ marriage uncovers a vast legacy of family secrets. 

In the summer of 1990, fourteen-year-old Trevor Riddell gets his first glimpse of Riddell House. Built from the spoils of a massive timber fortune, the legendary family mansion is constructed of giant whole trees and is set on a huge estate overlooking Seattle’s Puget Sound. 

Trevor’s bankrupt parents have begun a trial separation, and his father, Jones Riddell, has brought Trevor to Riddell House with a goal: to join forces with his sister, Serena, dispatch the ailing and elderly Grandpa Samuel to a nursing home, sell off the house and property for development, divide up the profits, and live happily ever after. 

But as Trevor explores the house’s secret stairways and hidden rooms, he discovers a spirit lingering in Riddell House whose agenda is at odds with the family plan. Only Trevor’s willingness to face the dark past of his forefathers will reveal the key to his family’s future. 

Spellbinding and atmospheric, A Sudden Light is rich with unconventional characters, scenes of transcendent natural beauty, and unforgettable moments of emotional truth that reflect Garth Stein’s outsized capacity for empathy and keen understanding of human motivation—a triumphant work of a master storyteller at the height of his power. 

If you haven’t read The Art of Racing in the Rain I can only recommend you read this heart-wrenching and funny book told through the eyes of Enzo. 

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Fiction, Non Fiction, Recommended, Reviews

Deconstructing Lila, Available 9/23/14 Buy It!

I love a great romance novel. I enjoy getting caught up in the journey to a happily ever after. 

In Deconstructing Lila, Shannon Leigh had delivered the enjoyment and escape into a well written novel. 

Deconstructing Lila (Entangled Select) Available September 23, 2014.

Preservationist Lila Gentry returns to her small Texas hometown to restore the famous Chisholm Trail whorehouse where her great-great-grandmother was a madam in the 1880s. On her agenda is winning back Jake, the one that got away. But how do you rope a man who doesn’t want to be wrangled?

Jake lives by one creed:  Keep it simple. His ex showing up in town complicates his life and makes him think about things he’d rather forget.
When Lila’s restoration project is threatened before it even begins, she turns to Jake for help. Working together stirs up old feelings, but while Lila and Jake always sizzle between the sheets—or wherever the moment takes them—it will involve some sweet-talking and finesse to bring these two together.
  
Shannon Leigh’s Deconstructing Lila is a breath of fresh air. She writes with an easy style and draws you into the world so easily you don’t even realize your obsession until it is 3 a.m. and you are saying ‘just one more chapter’.
Leigh delightfully blends a traditional modern romance with historically accurate Texas and a second love story. Lila has returned to the home town, a past she has left behind and an ex husband.
 
Lila’s great-great grandmother, ran a brothel called Miss Pru’s house. Someone sent Pru’s journal to Lila. She is motivated and intrigued.  And the handsome Jake is a target along with rebuilding Pru’s house into a day spa. She is determined, to rebuild Pru’s house and win over Jake.
 
“It appeared her job in Hannington had taken on a new twist.
Win back estranged husband. Make the town like her again. And find out what
happened to one Prudence MacIntosh and one Luke Pierce.”
 
As Lila forges ahead to build a happily ever after, Pru speaks to her great-granddaughter through her old diary, revealing her own life and wisdom/lessons on how to attract a man and make oneself desirable. 
 
 
Lesson #14 Silent words conveyed with the eyes are as powerful as those spoken.
Lesson #6 Stand up for yourself. Do not let folk railroad you or make you feel bad. Have pride in who you are and what you do, and the people trying to bring you down to their level will admire you. So will your man.
 

This is a romance so we know a happily ever awaits, but the journey is a delight.  For other books by Ms. Leigh see my review of Forbidden Kiss.

 

3 Comments

Filed under Books, Fiction, Recommended, Reviews

New Releases 9/9/14 Recommended Books

Hello My Friends! Of all the books being released this week – here is what I think are the most awesome. The awesomest. Anyway, I recommend the following books.  Enjoy!

Horton and the Kwuggerbug and more Lost Stories  by Dr. Seuss & Charles D. Cohen Available September 9, 2014 $9.49. 
 A new Dr. Seuss book! This follow-up to The Bippolo Seed and Other Lost Stories features familiar Seussian faces and places—including Horton the Elephant, Marco, Mulberry Street, and a Grinch—as well as an introduction by renowned Seuss scholar Charles D. Cohen. 

Seuss fans will learn more about Horton’s integrity, Marco’s amazing imagination, a narrowly avoided disaster on Mullbery Street, and a devious Grinch. With a color palette enhanced beyond that of the magazines in which the stories originally appeared, this new volume of “lost” tales is a perfect gift for young readers and a must-have for Seuss collectors of all ages!

Horton the Elephant, Marco, and a Grinch return in this rousing recovery of four long-lost stories by the immortal Dr. Seuss!

Most of these entertaining tales appeared in Redbook magazine in the early fifties, but none have not been published since. Respected Seuss scholar Charles D. Cohen offers context to these rediscovered manuscript treasures in a buoyant introduction, making this picture book a gem for readers from four to eight to eighty and beyond. 

If you love Dr. Seuss (and who doesn’t?) why not get The Bippolo Seed and Other Lost Stories (Classic Seuss)  and a marvelous book from 1973  Did I Ever Tell You How Lucky You Are? (Classic Seuss)

 

 

“When you think things are bad, when you feel sour and blue, you should do what I do!”

 

So begins the terrific advice of the wise old man in the Desert of Drize. This classic book provides the perfect antidote for readers of all ages who are feeling a bit down in the dumps. Thanks to Dr. Seuss’s trademark rhymes and signature illustrations, readers will, without a doubt, realize just how lucky they truly are.

Holly Black and Cassandra Clare TOGETHER with a new series.The Iron Trial (Book One of Magisterium) (The Magisterium) The two bestselling series authors: Holly Black (The Spiderwick Chronicles) and Cassandra Clare (The Mortal Instruments Trilogy) create a wonderful story about Callum Hunt, a boy who really, really, really doesn’t want to go to magic school, but somehow can’t succeed at failing.

 I love Holly Blacks Tithe: A Modern Faerie Tale series and recommend you check out these wonderful young adult books also. Modern Faerie Tales: Tithe; Valiant; Ironside

 Waking Up: A Guide to Spirituality Without Religion by Sam Harris. 
For the millions of Americans who want spirituality without religion, Sam Harris’s new book is a guide to meditation as a rational spiritual practice informed by neuroscience and psychology. From multiple New York Times bestselling author, neuroscientist, and “new atheist” Sam Harris, Waking Up is for the 30 percent of Americans who follow no religion, but who suspect that Jesus, Buddha, Lao Tzu, Rumi, and the other saints and sages of history could not have all been epileptics, schizophrenics, or frauds.

Throughout the book, Harris argues that there are important truths to be found in the experiences of such contemplatives—and, therefore, that there is more to understanding reality than science and secular culture generally allow. Waking Up is part seeker’s memoir and part exploration of the scientific underpinnings of spirituality. No other book marries contemplative wisdom and modern science in this way, and no author other than Sam Harris—a scientist, philosopher, and famous skeptic—could write it.

 

Leave a comment

Filed under Books, Fiction, Non Fiction, Reading, Recommended